Northwestern Michigan College Founders Scholarship

Northwestern Michigan College’s emphasis on excellence begins with the identification of area high school seniors who have demonstrated high academic achievement.

Eligibility and Procedures:

1. Must be a graduating senior from the service area* planning to attend NMC who have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.9 or better.

2. The recipient must become a full-time student at NMC (12 or more credits per semester) commencing with the Fall 2021 semester and for each semester thereafter.

3. The Founders Scholarship is up to $4,000 per year divided equally between the fall and spring academic semesters, to be awarded in the academic year immediately following the year the student graduates from high school.

4. Submitting a reference letter from your high school principal or counselor is required. The application as been extended and is now due MAY 1. It is recommended that you contact your principal to make them aware that the email request has been sent.

5. The scholarship is renewable for the second year of study at NMC if the recipient maintains a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or better by the end of their first year, earns at least 24 semester credits. Returning students are only asked to submit the General Application in order to be considered.

6. Scholarship funds must be used for educational expenses pursuant to an education at NMC. If a Presidential Scholar is eligible for other tuition-restricted awards, those awards will be applied first. The Presidential Scholarship can be used to meet the remaining cost of attendance.

7. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic excellence and is not need-based. Former dual enrolled student are eligible.

*Service Area = Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, and Wexford counties

Supplemental Questions
  1. Please supply the name and email address of your high school principal or counselor who will submit a letter of reference on your behalf.
  2. Will you graduate from a high school in one of the following counties on or after May 1, 2021 (Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, or Wexford)?